I teach naked at my school.

Would you like to go to your school and teach naked?

Actually, I do.

Please, don’t judge me. I’ll explain you what I mean.

It is true that I teach “naked”. Don’t think I arrive at school and take off my clothes. What I mean when I say naked, is that in our school we don’t have access to that beautiful and powerful tool that everybody is talking about: technology.

I must admit that technology is more accessible everyday, it makes our lives more comfortable, it is a very useful tool in the field of education, and that I love it.

But, have you ever thought about those places where electricity is not available? Have you been to a school made out of wood? Have you taught in any rural school?

There are lots of schools where technology, and even the most basic services such as electricity are not available. This is not privative of Mexico, but it is the real thing for many countries in the world, specially those called “emergent economies”. -Due to their characteristics, those countries are evolving into a better one. Unfortunately, there are big socioeconomic differences in the population that lead to this deficit of opportunities.

English language is being taught all over the world, specially on those emergent markets. As a result of the process, English in such countries is really important in the process of globalisation.

People want to learn English in someway or another. In some cases governors realise that they need to implement changes in order to satisfy that demand. Unfortunately, here is the problem, we speak of the use of technology into the classroom indistinctly; we tend to forget our reality.

That is why, me and my coworker at “Isaac Arriaga” Rural Elementary School, in Morelia Michoacan, present an easy to develop technique that has been forgotten.

Claudia and I will be presenting our workshop “Teaching naked just with drawings” at the First Anglo Forum in Mexico city on February 23rd.

If you find this topic interesting fell free to comment.

One thought on “I teach naked at my school.

  1. Moc,
    Congratulations! As another technology user, I love using technology…and I also often have no access to it. However, like you, I have come to the conclusion that using tools like technology might be avoiding us from thinking about what is really at hand here…and that is good teaching. To me, what is most important about teaching is having the learners involved with their learning process and engaged in what they are doing enough to have reflective activities help them focus on their learning process.
    Now that is a mouthful; but it comes down to this:
    active learning strategies.

    I wish you and Claudia the best as you present your strategy on active learning with drawings…
    Ellen

Leave a Reply

